Joan-pic

Customer Reviews

February 18, 2013 5_stars

Joan was our private tour guide for a group of Americans from many states who came to Malta for the first time. I was the presenter in this group and was totally impressed with her knowledge, her professionalism ad her open nature. We were a group of about 18 people who stayed in Malta for ten days. I would hire Joan anytime for any kind of Malta tour. I fell in love with Malta, the history, the food, the mysteries and mostly the people because of Joan. SHE IS THE BEST!

Johanna Carroll
San Diego, California
Visited June 2012

February 5, 2013 5_stars

We have taken many tours and found that Joan was among the best we have seen. She is very knowledgeable, dedicated and friendly Her grasp of history, details about names, dates and geography was superb. Undoubtedly a great asset for \tours by locals.Even as a long day drew to an end she still showed energy and enthusiasm.

Review taken from toursbylocal.com http://www.toursbylocals.com/ratings&tour=53747

February 5, 2013 5_stars

This tour was excellent. On this trip, a cruise, we had tours at 5 other ports and this was by far the best. Joan was extremely knowledgeable about Malta and its history. I highly recommend her. In addition, when we mentioned that we would be in Gozo the following day, she also outlined the sights we should see there.

Tour date November 9th, 2012 as featured on toursbylocals.com http://www.toursbylocals.com/ratings&tour=53747

February 5, 2013 5_stars

Joan made our visit to Malta an unforgettable experience. Twelve of us, passengers on the Pacific Princess, joined her for a day tour of Valletta, Marsexlokk Village, Hagar Qim Temple, and Mdina. We had no expectations or knowledge about the island and its history.

Joan made it come alive. We started in Valletta with its history of the Knights of St. John, including a visit to St. John's Co-Cathedral (which has phenomenal gold-leaf chapels, recently cleaned by hand via toothbrush) to St. Paul's Shipwreck Church and a walk through the center of the city. Joan brought it all alive, from the bawdy needs of the crusaders and the impact that had on the development of the city, to more current historical and governmental effects to the island. She had our van driver take us around the perimeter of the old city, by the Sea Grotto, and on to Marsexlokk Village, where she had arranged for us to have a delicious lunch (cost was not included in the tour), outside along the waterfront with its colorful fishing boats. We also visited Hagar Qim Temple, where she gave us background to this amazing location, which I imagine is not unlike Stonehenge. Afterwards we headed to the ancient Roman and Arab city of Mdina, an automobile-free city on a hilltop, where she briefed us on its history as we wandered through its narrow streets.

Joan not only brought Malta to life, her enthusiasm about her home country made us all want to return. We highly recommend her as a guide and will definitely use her again if we have the opportunity to return.

Visited November 2012

As featured on TripAdvisor
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g190320-d3768990-Reviews-Malta_Tour_Guide_Private_Day_Tours-Island_of_Malta.html

February 1, 2013 5_stars

A fabulous tour which is exactly what my family wanted. Thank you for considering the teenagers, they have never enjoyed a tour so much..you made is so interesting for them and they have not stopped talking about you.

Joan, we have friends coming over during the Easter period and I have passed on your contact details.

Best regards
Smithson Family

© 2013 Joan Sheridan Freelance Tour Guide. All rights reserved.